The Writing Detox

Writing Myself a Healthy Life

Are we there yet?

I’m ready for March to be done. It’s not because I’m dying for spring to arrive, because I know by this point in life that Southern Ontario has a pro and a con to every season – we’ll just be trading the snow for the black flies, and frankly, the snow is less itchy. It’s not about the cold. It’s about the fiscal year.

In my line of work (like lots of people) March is hell-month because things gots to get dun by the end of the month and you over-commit, so you know the chaos will spill into April, but you’re going to pretend to the very last minute that it won’t. March is an overwhelming month and I always take on too many things: not too much, but too many. There’s a difference.

With too much, it’s not possible to get it all done. I actually, if I managed my time well, have more than enough time to accomplish what I’ve set out to do. Too many things though, is about the mental fatigue that kicks in when you try to switch one task to another and back again. Keeping track of what’s what and when each project is due is what drains me. And when I’m overwhelmed, the first thing I sacrifice is exercise because “I just don’t have time to go to the gym tonight”.

And then the eating starts, and the poor sleeping follows, and the depression is only a week behind.

Today, I have two projects that must be delivered (I’m presenting one of them at 4 o’clock). But, I am making a commitment here that I will go to the gym after my presentation, come hell or high water, even if it’s just to walk on the treadmill for ten minutes and then come home.

That’s all I’m promising to do for today, but it’s going to be enough.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

